top of page
  • Writer's pictureShem Opolot

Google Drive for storage and file management

Hi! If you have a computer, and a Gmail account you probably use Google Drive to store some important documentation or use the free tools available in Google Workspace. Here are a few tips on how you can use Google Drive more efficiently.


Here is this week's video:



Finding Google Drive

If you have a Gmail account, then you have access to Google Drive. To access your Google Drive, you can open your browser and type drive.google.com and log into your Google Account; or, while in your Gmail, click the box of dots in the top right corner next to your avatar and scroll down to click Drive.

Where to find your Drive account


Organizing files in your Drive

There are several alternative cloud storage services such as Box, Dropbox, iCloud, One Drive, etc. The cloud storage services offer several features, but the most relevant features for the average person are the price and amount of free storage space offered. Based on these 2 features, Google Drive offers the best deal with 15 GB of free storage to start.


Once you log into your Google Drive, I recommend you borrow my simple file management system and create three separate folders: Working, Business and Personal. These 3 folders can encompass all the files you get or create:


Working - I place all the files I am actively working on at the moment. This just makes it easier for me to access them and resume my work instead of searching vigorously or fishing around in sub-folders. If I am productive, this folder is usually empty.


Business - All my business-related files go here. I have separate folders for my 9-5 job, my side hustles, other companies I am involved in, and so on.


Personal - I keep my personal files here: Birth certificates, thousands of iterations of cover letters and resumes 🥺, copies of IDs, cute photos of my son (even though I am moving these to his own Drive account because the little guy stays CUTE!) etc.


Naming files

There are many philosophies on how to name files. Some are simple, and some are directed by Christopher Nolan (filename_purpose_yourbloodtype_date). I believe in simplicity, so my only rule is: when you name a file, make sure you can always know what's in it by reading the title. The title does not have to make sense to a stranger, but it must make sense to you.

when you name a file, make sure you can always know what's in it by reading the title

I use a simple method: filename_purpose. For example, when naming a cover letter prior to submission, I save it as Cover_Letter_Role_Company_Name. I indicate the category of the file (cover letter) and the purpose for sending the cover letter (role + company name). Ensure the names are clear and short enough to be read at a glance without having to hover the cursor or preview the document.


Keyboard shortcuts

If you want to have fun while browsing, use keyboard shortcuts or hotkeys. Here is a list of all the keyboard shortcuts you can use in the Google Drive interface. One of my favourites is selecting a file or folder and pressing 'N' to rename the file/folder.


Change the colour of folders

You can change the colour of folders by right-clicking on the folder and going to Change Colour


Creating shortcuts to files and folders

Sometimes you want to share a document but you want to retain the original because someone borrowed your bike when you were a kid and did not return it and now you have trust issues. Whew! That was specific 👀. Do not worry, my therapy appointment is tomorrow at noon. Creating a shortcut of a file or folder and sharing it will create a copy of the file or folder while leaving the original intact. This is more efficient than creating a copy.

Right-click the document/folder, click Add Shortcut to Drive and place it where you would like and then share it.

Starring files

For files or folders you access frequently, you can star them so they can be accessed quickly in the Starred menu on the left menu in Google Drive. However, think carefully about the files you Star. What's the point of you being special if everyone is special?



Digital Cleanse

Once a year, towards the end of the year, I perform a digital cleanse where I review all my files and delete those I AM SURE I don't need anymore. I recommend you do the same. Removing those scattered files on your desktop will have the same calming effect as making your bed and folding your clothes, and it will save your storage space. I often have a fourth folder called OLD STUFF where I dump old projects and store them for over a year until the digital cleanse. During the cleanse, I review the files and delete what I don't need and keep what I am not sure about.


Conclusion

Google Drive is vast and extremely useful. I hope these few tips empower you to use it productively.


Have a good week!

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page